Windows 10 — Totseans

Windows 10

SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator-__-
edited July 2015 in Tech & Games
It seems I'm getting a "free" upgrade to Windows 10 on the 29th. MS has helpfully put up a notification icon on all eligible computers. So far three computer for me. 

Most people saw it and thought it was malware, I don't blame them:
http://i.imgur.com/le9l4of.png

 I wonder if this makes the install genuine...

http://i.imgur.com/ZaNzRMn.png

Comments

  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    edited July 2015
    Here's the youtube link shown in the about screenshot. 



    Amusingly enough, out of millions of free upgrades only about 4000 people saw the video. 
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    It still looks like the lego monster threw up on the application start screen. I was also reading on jimmyR that it's committed to updates for up to 10years with windows 10. If you upgrade could you confirm this for me. I'm kinda curious if this shits for real. Churz in advance. ;)
  • DfgDfg Admin
    I actually have it setup for myself, waiting to get the upgrade. Although I will get it on The Laptop before trying the desktop.
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    Installed the RTM:

    They've really tied it in with their web services, cortana, outlook sign-ins, onedrive. 

    Took some time to disable some of it. They've hidden it from plain view too (had to do it in gpedit.msc). 

    They have a new browser called "Edge" - it's not a flaming turd like IE. 
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    edited July 2015
    I think I'll take a wide step around 10 because it's like Windows 8 only amplified. I can't believe you're committed to their updates and no one else's. That's forced updates which is so fucking stupid!

    Windows 10 Automatic Updates Start Causing Problems

    With just four days left before launch, Windows 10’s policy of automatic updates has run into its first major
    problem and it is causing many PCs to stop working correctly................Interestingly the problem has also been experienced by Forbes contributor Paul Monckton who has done some digging and explained to me that the fault lies in a conflict between Windows Update and Nvidia’s own driver and software management tool the ‘Nvidia GeForce Experience’.

    “It looks like driver version 353.54 [the latest at time of writing] is available only via Window Update,” Monckton told me. “The problem is the Nvidia GeForce Experience then tried to downgrade that to the previous version while claiming the previous version was actually newer.”............

    Given Windows 10 updates cannot be stopped the most obvious solution is to uninstall third party driver management and hand it all over to Windows Update to avoid clashes. This potentially simplifies matters by providing an all-in-one update service, but it does mean taking away control from specialist companies over their own products.

    A second approach is something many readers mentioned in comments on my previous post when Microsoft confirmed Windows 10 updates were unstoppable: hack it.
    Initially this might work, but in April senior Microsoft product marketing manager Helen Harmetz said during a Windows 10 webinar that users who forcibly stopped any Windows 10 updates would eventually have their security updates cut off. Microsoft has yet to confirm this brutal enforcement policy in official documentation, but if this is the path it chooses that would ultimately make any form of update hack pointless.
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    Yeah. They force updates. Even driver updates which is fucking stupid and just asking for trouble.

  • DfgDfg Admin
    Hmm, so not sure about all of this, but will go ahead with Update on Laptop.
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Dfg said:

    Hmm, so not sure about all of this, but will go ahead with Update on Laptop.

    Keep us informed of the results dude? Churz. ;)
  • DfgDfg Admin


    Dfg said:

    Hmm, so not sure about all of this, but will go ahead with Update on Laptop.

    Keep us informed of the results dude? Churz. ;)
    Sure mate :D
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    Kept it on my laptop, got rid of it on my desktop. Too slow on my oldish desktop.

    Will try it again after a few months of updates. 
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Kept it on my laptop, got rid of it on my desktop. Too slow on my oldish desktop.

    Will try it again after a few months of updates. 
    I know you're a minimalist but out of curiosity what cpu and ram are you running in that desktop? Since I'm on the subject I was looking for a linux distro to trial out that would be reasonably lite on resources but functional out of the box. I didn't wanna go back to Arch because I couldn't be bothered resetting all that shit exactly the way I liked it again and as for bodhilinux Jeff sold his soul to the devil. I got my eye on Vector Light 7.1. It runs IceWM rather than Xfce (I can't stand Xfce) Although, I'm more an enlightenment kinda guy myself. I was wondering if you've ever trialed this distro or perhaps IceWM? http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=09028 I was gonna install Kali on my partition because I like the tools that come with it, unfortunately its quite a behemoth beast for a linux distro so I decided to add it to a stick instead. I guess I could just download the tools I like to my new OS as soon as I find myself a happy place.
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    edited July 2015
    My minimalism is around design mainly.  

    I haven't tried vector. 
    I have used IceWM  and like it a lot (It's not very flexible though), all the configuration is done in a text file which gets convoluted after a while. I run IceWM on a computer with < 512mg of RAM. I use it with PCmanFM for desktop icons. 

    Have you tried fvwm2 as a desktop? (It's a window manager really)
    Have you tried Puppy Linux? It's changed since i last used it but seems to have the same goal of a portable, fast, small OS.
    Have you tried Antergos? It's a nice Arch Linux spin-off. Easy install of a lot of things in the installer. It's what i use when i want Arch.

    If you liked Archbang, you could install a minimal debian and add what you want to it. That's all it really was.

    The desktop is an Intel E2180  with 4gb RAM.
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    I've used puppy live over the years and it's been an awesome asset at times but I never really considered using it as a installed os. Now that could be interesting considering there are many variations of puppy out there at the moment. Hmmm .... I'll seriously ponder that!

    Actually I did kinda like Archbang and I "think" I tried Antergos way back. (tried so many, ooooh .... so many choices) Also tried Majaro or whatever the hell it's called. But now I'm looking at Bridge.

    Lol! Instead of narrowing down my search my choices have just grown. I've come to the conclusion that linux distro's are really just Pokemon. "You gotta catch em all" ay..... :D

    Cheers dude


  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    The desktop is an Intel E2180  with 4gb RAM.

    Really! Windows 10 won't run that? Gawd that os must be one hell of a resource hog because that should run windows 8 reasonably comfortably and their system requirements are exactly the same. 1gb here, one gb there, ya know. Maybe an updates will fix the bog down issues. Lol! :D 
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    I think it may be a graphics card thing. It's a G96 series that's a bit flaky (wierd DMA errors).
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    edited July 2015
    I'm trying vector linux @ the moment its not as fast as they fucking say it is. I think it's a graphic card issue as well because all the aesthetics seem screwy. The fonts are blurry and kinda hard to read, the wallpapers look like their creators had the right concept but the pixel balancing is all wrong. They have a high def logo on a third world pixelated background. It kinda reminds me of the 2nd or 3rd edition of puppy had it's makeup applied by a transvestite. ..... DoH ........ Plus my sound card don't go.

    It's as laggy as having a baseball bat length turd the diameter of a large watermelon and internet browsing is even worse. WTFs up with that? I dread to try and download another linux distro with this.

    I think they just rushed it out there before testing thoroughly and figured the user can sort the issues out for them ..... Kinda like ....... windows 10 .... really. (<---And THAT's how you glue a derailed thread back together)  
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    And my Linux award goes to ....***drum roll*** Kali Linux. ***claps and whistles***
  • DaktologistDaktologist Global Moderator
    I installed it last night and its not bad. Just can't get my desktop background to span across multiple monitors :(
  • I installed it last night and its not bad. Just can't get my desktop background to span across multiple monitors :(

    Do what I do, install John Background Switcher, it's free been using it for years, hands down the best Background manager.
  • DaktologistDaktologist Global Moderator
    Dfg said:



    Do what I do, install John Background Switcher, it's free been using it for years, hands down the best Background manager.

    Sweet, ill give it a go. I'm assuming that native support is a bit buggy right now and eventually it will be fixed.

  • Dfg said:



    Do what I do, install John Background Switcher, it's free been using it for years, hands down the best Background manager.

    Sweet, ill give it a go. I'm assuming that native support is a bit buggy right now and eventually it will be fixed.
    John Background, is compatible, so you won't have to worry.
  • DaktologistDaktologist Global Moderator
    Dfg said:



    John Background, is compatible, so you won't have to worry.

    Works perfectly. Loving the features it has :D

  • Dfg said:



    John Background, is compatible, so you won't have to worry.

    Works perfectly. Loving the features it has :D
    Been using it since I dunno Windows Xp era.
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Can't you just set screens in display? Forgive my noobisim but I haven't much experience with windows 8 (besides common servicing to make money type shit) let alone 10. :(
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Did you guys know if you upgraded, you have 1 month to decide whether you'd like to switch back to your old os? As long as you haven't deleted any of the old os files or main folder. Ms will automatically delete the old ones after a month to make space (or so they say) on your HDD. I find that quite inneresting to be honest. Ms is giving choices? ...... What is this madness?
    http://www.howtogeek.com/220723/how-to-uninstall-windows-10-and-downgrade-to-windows-7-or-8.1/
  • Honestly I just installed it last night on Laptop and was clearly blown away, I don't even mind the extra privacy settings, Cortana seems like a useful feature. So, I think I might upgrade my desktop today as well.
  • Brothers, I have made the switch to Windows 10. And it's awesome. :D
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Dfg said:
    Brothers, I have made the switch to Windows 10. And it's awesome. :D
    image

  • Dfg said:

    Brothers, I have made the switch to Windows 10. And it's awesome. :D

    image


    Well, it does Cortana is a bit hard to get used to.
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Dfg said:


    Dfg said:

    Brothers, I have made the switch to Windows 10. And it's awesome. :D

    image
    Well, it does Cortana is a bit hard to get used to.
    Did cortana come out in win 8.1?

  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    windows phone 8.1, now Windows 10 and soon Android/iOS
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Noooo......Not the same android based on a linux kernal?. Oh the sacrilege.
  • Day 2 on Windows 10. Still no crashes!
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Dfg said:

    Day 2 on Windows 10. Still no crashes!

    even if there were crashes you'll be perfectly safe because windows 10 is a padded cell
  • Dfg said:

    Day 2 on Windows 10. Still no crashes!

    even if there were crashes you'll be perfectly safe because windows 10 is a padded cell
    Aww yes :)



  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    edited August 2015
    Apparently microsoft tracking (in some form or another) isn't completely disabled in 10 even if you turn that shit off there's other shit that's still running unless you disable it in regedit. To save the hassle of finding it there's something that can do that for you and here it is.
    https://github.com/10se1ucgo/DisableWinTracking/releases

    Here's more details about what I'm burbling on about....
    http://blog.lifars.com/2015/08/05/app-to-disable-windows-10-tracking-features/

    Just dooo eeet!
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    Thanks for the program BK!! It's going to save me a lot of time.
  • On the fence about it, but I will install it anyway. Cortana won't be happy.
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Dfg said:

    On the fence about it, but I will install it anyway. Cortana won't be happy.

    Use it to deactivate the pointless shit and turn cortana back on manually. Hopefully cortana doesn't rely on every individual piece of spyware MS activate in 10. ;)
  • Dfg said:

    On the fence about it, but I will install it anyway. Cortana won't be happy.

    Use it to deactivate the pointless shit and turn cortana back on manually. Hopefully cortana doesn't rely on every individual piece of spyware MS activate in 10. ;)
    Well you try it, if it works, I will give it a try.
  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch
    Dfg said:

    Dfg said:

    On the fence about it, but I will install it anyway. Cortana won't be happy.

    Use it to deactivate the pointless shit and turn cortana back on manually. Hopefully cortana doesn't rely on every individual piece of spyware MS activate in 10. ;)
    Well you try it, if it works, I will give it a try.
    Hahaha .... I believe you need windows 10 to make it work. :D
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    I ran it on my desktop (which is kinda a shared computer, so i don't want to login to my stuff with it) did the job.

  • bornkillerbornkiller Administrator In your girlfriends snatch

    I ran it on my desktop (which is kinda a shared computer, so i don't want to login to my stuff with it) did the job.

    ^ And there you have it Dfg ^ :D
  • I ran it on my desktop (which is kinda a shared computer, so i don't want to login to my stuff with it) did the job.

    ^ And there you have it Dfg ^ :D
    Okay I ran it but stopped making the changes, knowing MS something might fuck up, I will wait for few days.
Sign In or Register to comment.