Making the life of Windows power users easier

AmieAmie Regular
edited July 2010 in Tech & Games
This thread is meant as a collection of (links to) applications and howto's / guides which make the life of windows power users easier. The main thing to focus on here is how to make windows run better and which applications make your life generally a whole lot easier when using a Windows OS, preferably without paying a dime. I'm far from an expert, but I think I can honestly call myself a power user. Most of what I'm posting here I've learned from surfing the internet, so don't complain when something in here breaks something.

This is NOT meant to be a best media player / best CD burning software / best Windows version / best browser / best anti-malware app thread, so please don't make it into one.

I might put all the links in the first post to make them easy to find and avoid reposts, I might not. Depends on how lazy I am going to be the next couple days.

Ok, let's get started.

Registry cleanup / Windows tweaking apps:

Iobit Advanced Systemcare - free edition: This usually makes Windows run a whole lot better. It optimizes system settings, can identify system chokepoints and turn them off and it cleans your registry - and best of all, there's a free edition without spyware which works very well.

Iobit Smart Defrag - free edition: This nifty little defragmenter not only defragments, but it can also put your most frequently accessed files in the fastest setors of your harddisk. Usually, a deep optimize of the system partition and a regular defrag of data storage partitions makes your computer purr like a kitten.

CCLeaner: Registry and useless files cleaner, always finds a couple things ASC does not find (and the reverse is true too).