Foreign Infatuation: On Teaching English Abroad & the French Foreign Legion

da teachada teacha Regular
edited August 2010 in Life
So I'm now back at home, after what's been a pretty eventful year. I flew out to Poland in September, where I worked as an English teacher. In March I got pretty bored one week and decided to find work in Kiev, but again, got bored of that and decided to enlist for the French Foreign Legion. Now I have fuck all to do, I'm writing up bits of my diaries I wrote along the way. Unfortunately however, all my shit I wrote in Poland got tore up by the Legion, so most of it for now is about my time in France.

www.foreigninfatuation.blogspot.com

Comments

• da teachada teacha Regular
    edited July 2010
    A typical lesson...

Times have changed it seems. Gone are the days of rocking up to lessons 4 days a week for an average of 2.5 hours, and here are the days where I'm going to be regularly waking up at stupid times like 7am, manning split shifts and sometimes working 6 days a week. Yesterday was one of those 'some' times; I had to lead a fucking discussion club.

It was at 12, but the school takes an hour to get to from my current location, and I needed to prepare something beforehand. Combined with having something to eat and a shower, it meant that I had to get up someetime around 9: an unheard of time for a weekday, let alone Saturday morning. (Unless it's when I'm stumbling back from a night out)

Needless to say, getting up at 9 was never going to happen, and I opted to get some grub down me instead of solidly preparing a lesson at the school: that's what an imagination and public transport is for I guess.