You Do Not Have to Say the Pledge of Allegiance

JackJack Regular
edited August 2011 in Spurious Generalities
The Supreme Court of the United States ruled in West Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnette, 319 U.S. 624 (1943) that it is unconstitutional, on principles of freedom of religion, freedom of speech, due process, and equal protection, to compel anyone to salute the American Flag or to recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

When I was in high school (I'm in my twenties) in Texas, the general belief was that students were required to stand, salute, and recite the Pledge of Allegiance. When challenged, staff would refer to "state law", by which they meant the Texas Education Code. This and any similar things in other states are, of course, superceded by the SCOTUS ruling. The section linked was added in 1995 and amended in 2003, despite a conflicting, trumping decision from long before.

I've been putting off writing something for this for several years. Now that I've finally gotten around to it, it came out nicely. I don't know if anyone's a student here or if it's just the same group of [former] kidiots, but I figured TOTSE would like it, anyway.

Comments

• JackJack Regular
    edited August 2011
    Cut the shit. I know you're not an idiot so quit acting like one.

I said: "I found the Pledge to be:" -- this obviously means that what follows is my opinion. After elaborating the reasons for my decision not to stand and recite the Pledge, I proposed that people refuse to say it not for my personal reasons, but to increase awareness of and respect for the right.

If this were "old news" every high school I went to wouldn't have been full of teachers and ass principals who assumed I was required to recite the Pledge.

What do you do with yourself, General? Do you spend your life pretending to be a retard online? Does that help you get off at night?
  • Darth BeaverDarth Beaver Meine Ehre heißt Treue
    edited August 2011
    Jack wrote: »