The Laser Thread

KatzenklavierKatzenklavier Regular
edited January 2011 in Life
Ask all your laser questions here.

Comments

• edited August 2010
    Fuck yeah, I need a new laser.

I need a laser which is bright enough that the beam is visible, and one which burns shit. It also needs to be good quality, and not some cheap ass japanese crap.

Price needs to be as low as possible.

Any help? I have no idea where to buy from, or what I'm even looking for.
  • DysgraphiaDysgraphia Locked
    edited August 2010
    Same here.

I'm a lazer noob. Need something strong enough to burn rubber, or at least perforate the surface a bit. Price isn't a problem, what are the varieties and how is it's potent measured in?
  • KatzenklavierKatzenklavier Regular
    edited August 2010
    I think this is perfect for both of you.

Don't forget GOGGLES! It's a must! Looking at the dot at close range WILL damage your eyes.

There are 7 commonly available wavelengths right now. "Potency" is measured in milliWatts. Regular red laser pointers are 5 mW.

808nm Infrared
    650nm Deep red
    635nm Red
    532nm Green
    473nm Light Blue
    445nm Deep Blue
    405nm Blacklight

Apparent laser brightness.
    Eyesensitivity.png
  • thewandererthewanderer Regular
    edited August 2010
    What's your opinion on the 1 watt blue laser that I keep hearing about?
    http://www.wickedlasers.com/lasers/Spyder_III_Pro_Arctic_Series-96-37.html
    edited August 2010
    My opinion is i'm trying to get my money back. I think I was scammed.
  • edited August 2010
    Where did you try and buy it from? Wicked lasers are trustworthy I think.
    edited August 2010
    trx100 wrote: »
    Where did you try and buy it from? Wicked lasers are trustworthy I think.

Trustworthy my ass. They took my money and ran. Go with o-like.
    edited August 2010
    I'm interested in the one you recommended. Is there anything better than it? If I'm buying something, it oughta not be shitty. :mad: