Every time I get out, they keep pulling me back in.

edited May 2011 in Spurious Generalities
So, I am a cook again. I swore I would never work in a kitchen again, stress, no money, and some major roadblocks preventing me from getting my papers. But I lost the job I got when I quit cooking due to some health problems, and tonight found me back in the white suit and funny hat, banging burgers and nacho's at a local Pub.

It is not so much that I need money, I have 3 months left that I could keep sucking up the medical unemployment insurance and playing guitar, civ4, and a few other diversions. But without work, time off is meaningless, and I needed to do something. A couple of calls got me in with a good buddy of mine who is trying to turn a local pub into a "gastro pub", still with most of the usual pub food, but with some more interesting items thrown in. It was nice to work again, and when we got hit with 30-40 covers for the hockey game rush, I got the same feeling I always get when I rock my job, I am the culinaryoverlord, bitches!

So, ITT; have you ever gone back to a profession you swore you would never return to? If so, why?

C/O
"I need 3 grilled veg filones, 2 fry, one greens with herb vinagrette, I need 2 bacon cheese with fry, I need one yellow beet salad, appys; may I call?"

Comments

• DfgDfg Admin
    edited May 2011
    Dude, congrats. I know it sucks but think of it this way, you're awesome at it and it's you destiny to make people happy. YOU ROCK!
  • cartmanbluecartmanblue New Arrival
    edited May 2011
    Yeah, selling weed and mushrooms. I swore it off because I was in my 2nd year in college and heard some rumor that if convited of any serious felonies, I could lose my federal loans....also, I figured it was about time I grow up and just focus on schoolwork.

I returned to selling pills now, just to make ends meet and support a minor opiate addiction/buy a few necessities now and then.