What's the best IM client to use, and why?

RaggedOldManRaggedOldMan Regular
edited August 2011 in Tech & Games
Up until about a year ago, I've been using the bog standard Windows Live Messenger. I was fed up with all the bullshit features and spangly bits, so I downloaded A-Patch to get rid of a lot of the fat, but it still ran like shit and was a killer on system resources. Afterwards, I downloaded Pidgin Messenger, which I also use when I'm on my Linux machine. I find it to be extremely light, has all the options and settings you need, and has some kick ass plugins! If I was to recommend anyone an Instant Messaging client, I'd pick Pidgin over the lot. You can even use it with TOR, as well as the OTR Plugin which is badass.

So, what do you use, and why?

Comments

• edited August 2011
    Pidgin FTW. I've been using it for many years now and I haven't looked back ever since I made the switch. Sure, you can't use a webcam with it, but fuck that - that's what I've got Skype for! I use the OTR plugin whenever I'm talking to someone from the internet (a few totseans use it) and I've got the Musictracker plugin which is also pretty cool. Like you said, it's lightweight and very basic. Just what I like :)
  • JackJack Regular
    edited August 2011
    Bitlbee, because I can keep it running in an IRC client on a shell account, meaning I don't miss messages regardless of the state of my local machine, and it doesn't have a bunch of bullshit in it (stupid fonts, emoticon images). I also don't have to spend my own machine's resources on it. Supports every IM protocol anyone gives a shit about. Twitter too. And OTR.
  • SlartibartfastSlartibartfast Global Moderator -__-
    edited August 2011
    eh. TBO I only use MSN, so i generally go with kmess. If i'm on a GNOME system i run pidgin.

On the rare occasion i need MSN on a windows box, it's Miranda IM or pidgin
  • BoxBox Regular
    edited August 2011