Pure Codeine in the UK

edited September 2011 in Man Cave
Is it possible to get pills of nothing but straight codeine in the UK? I've seen Codeine mixed with Acetaminophen in both Co-Codamol and Nurofen, but is it actually possible to get just codeine without the APAP?

Apologies if this is a dumb question - I'm a noob when it comes to meds.

Comments

• RemadERemadE Global Moderator
    edited September 2011
    My Sister had, and still has pure 30mg tabs of codeine. It's only prescription though.

Edit:-

Codeine.jpg
  • RaggedOldManRaggedOldMan Regular
    edited September 2011
    What pills do you Brits get which contain codeine and how much is in each pill?
    edited September 2011
    OTC is usually something like Paramol (or one of the many other brand names) with 8mg max of Codeine and 300-500mg Paracetamol.
    Prescription can range from 30-60mg.
  • edited September 2011
    Wow, only 8mg per pill? That sucks! I went into the hospital not so long ago with some pretty bad pain, and was given Co-codamol at 30mg per pill. I took 2 pills before the pain went away naturally and I was left with the rest of the pack to play with. I think I've got about... 10 left?

I had no idea they were so precious, hahaha.
  • edited September 2011
    I have tried CWE with 8mg codeine, almost not worth it, too much caffeine, and other crap. 30mg is definitely enough to play with, 3-4 refined with some cold water, and a couple of benzo's and you will be nodding like a hobo on holiday, I would half that dose if you want to make sure you live.
  • edited September 2011

If you can, eat some piperine (sold as bioperine) with it - induces the cytochrome pathway that breaks it down into morphine(\ones), making it that much more effective.

Thanks for that one, I had always wondered if there was a way to increase the bioavailability of codeine
    edited September 2011