I've been told I'm a talented writer...now what?

HGMIVHGMIV Acolyte
edited October 2011 in Spurious Generalities
Many people told me I am a talented writer. Even the author of a international best-selling book told me that I should write for a living. Of course my family has told me, and my girlfriend, but I feel they have a bias. Teachers have always said it, too. Currently I have a blog I'm working on and it's gotten great response from the few people that have read it, one being the author I mentioned above.

I would love to continue writing, and quite possibly make some money off of it. Obviously I won't be able to get money immediately, I would just like to start on the right track. I have no college degree, worked only retail, and have a child on the way, due in September. I really don't know how to apply my apparent "talent." Has anyone had any experience writing for a career, or at least know anything that can help me get going in the right direction?

Comments

• MarineBoatMarineBoat Regular
    edited July 2011
    Sub'd.

Except I've been told I'm a talented pianist.
  • StephenPBarrettStephenPBarrett Adviser
    edited July 2011
    Hmm you should post some of your work here. Then I will help you to find ways to make money from your trade.
  • RemadERemadE Global Moderator
    edited July 2011
    I've received much praise with regards to my style of writing as well. I do have a blog but it's full of personal shit so tend not to advertise it. Unfortunately I've yet to find anyone who's willing to let me write an article or two. I did a few for a local paper but they came back with "have you even read a newspaper?". It was a review of a restaurant, and I, as well as many others, thought it was a fucking awesome type-up.

Shame.
  • Ad NauseamAd Nauseam Acolyte
    edited July 2011