Community Driven or Community Run?

DfgDfg Admin
edited April 2011 in Help and Suggestions
First of all thanks to Amie for exposing this problem. As totse.info grows our policies might need to change to reflect the current environment. When this project first started I made up my mind that I will do anything to make this work. I was and still am like others in this. I don't own any part of totse.info, I didn't buy the license, I don't pay for hosting nor do I earn anything from totse.info, no one paid me any money to work here. I did my best only because I believed in something and I hoped that someday as I grow old or might be dying I would remember this place and say fuck you because in my heart I truly did something special.

Enough of this, in the start, I told everyone that Totse.info would be run by the community and I as an Admin I would try to execute whatever they demanded. This theory worked in the start and I did see some great results. It worked because the core community was amazing, we had users like bk, trx, mayberry and countless others contributing and making things work and whatever choices they made benefited the community. But as new users came in they didn't really suggest any change that would benefit Totse.info.
I did make some ground rules like No Reps or e-whoring or any implementation that would harm totse.info or any change that is proven to fail. In short, I avoided implemented some changes that didn't work in the past. In doing so, I didn't fully commit to what I said. Sure, I asked the community but I did decide not to go that way. In doing that I drifted away from community decides everything rule implemented in the past.