Want to learn how to play guitar?

homeslice4700homeslice4700 Regular
edited December 2010 in Spurious Generalities
I can teach you from here for FREE!

I've been playing for 6 years now but I've seen guys who have been playing for 15+ years and that don't have half the skills I do and I had no teachers I completely taught myself

If anyone is interested I will post more

Comments

• edited December 2010
    I've been playing for like 14 years now, and I should know a lot more than I currently do. Fancy suggesting some theory which I could learn which would improve my soloing?

All I've got to work around at the moment are major and minor pentatonic scales, which is kind of gay. I need to learn more, but I have no idea what to learn next.
  • Darth BeaverDarth Beaver Meine Ehre heißt Treue
    edited December 2010
    Post some more let's see it mang.
  • dr rockerdr rocker Regular
    edited December 2010
    For a begginer (to soloing anyway) I would recomend people first start working on hammer ons, pull offs and trills - get them sounding really clean because it does take some time to develop the strenth and accuracy needed in the fingers. Along with this work on your vibrato - fast, slow, wide, understated - this is what is going to add feeling.

I would then look at training the ear for bends and slides - remembering back, I got my my ear in by Chuck Berry duckwalking over and over again.

This combinded with knowing you scales - in all positions - should get people moving along pretty quickly. Once comfortable with the above, try double stops - I think these allways sound good or bad with no middle ground - if you can play, you can double stop, if you cant, you cant.

Play things you are familar with -if you have heard a song a thousand times, you will learn it a hell of a lot quicker than if it is new to you.
    edited December 2010
    Also, if you are after decent tabs online, use software such as powertabs or guitarpro.